Final League results
Most teams dodge torrential rain to secure victories
Dougal Toms claims 1st place in regional championships
Open Days are held in September and June. Our next Open Morning will be:
Saturday, 22 June 2013
FROM 10:00 - 12:00
Norwich School has a long and fascinating history. Its roots and the buildings it occupies date back to the foundation of the Cathedral. Each day, the pupils and teachers go about their business in and around magnificent mediaeval buildings.
It is impossible to ignore the sense of tradition and the beauty of the surroundings.
The School has a long list of distinguished former pupils, including Sir Edward Coke, Humphry Repton, Lt Col Derek Seagrim VC, Major Hugh Seagrim GC, Lord Blake and Lord Ashcroft.
The most famous of all Old Norvicensians is Horatio, Viscount Nelson.
Bishop Herbert de Losinga establishes the Benedictine Priory at Norwich and, shortly afterwards, an Episcopal Grammar School
The original Bishop's Palace is built (now part of a Senior School classroom block)
Vincent of Scarning appears in a document as Master of the Episcopal School - the first of an unbroken and documented line of headmasters that
continues to the present day
First record of the Almonry School - a second school within close proximity of the Cathedral
Chantry Chapel of St John the Evangelist (now the School Chapel) is founded by Bishop John Salmon
A further Chantry Chapel, probably associated with Agincourt veterans, is founded in the Chapel Crypt by Henry V
Amalgamation of the Episcopal School and the Almonry School
King Henry VIII's Grammar School is established, on the Cathedral foundation
The School is refounded as King Edward VI's Grammar School under the Great Hospital Charter, thus separating it from the Cathedral foundation and placing it under the control of the Mayor and Aldermen of Norwich
The School moves into its current buildings - School House and the School Chapel (the former College and Chantry of St John the Evangelist, which had been dissolved in 1547)